Partial Differential Equations and Functional Analysis

Instructor: Prof. Dr. Stefan Müller

Assistant: Richard Schubert


Here is a short overwiev of what kind of topics the lecture is concerned with.


Wednesday, 10.15-12.00, kleiner Hörsaal

Friday, 8.15-10.00, kleiner Hörsaal



  • Tutorials start in the second week
  • The distribution to the tutorial groups takes place in the first lecture
  • Exercise sheets will be distributed each friday in the lecture and will be made available on this site. The solutions shall generally be handed in the following friday during the lecture.The due dates will be marked on the exercise sheets.
  • Please note the name of your tutor on your solution
  • You can hand in solutions in groups of at most two
  • In order to be admitted for the exam you have to score at least 50% of the achievable points in the homework

Lecture notes

Notes (last update 02.02.2018)

Notes from Analysis 3

Exercise sheets

sheet 0 (was done in the first tutorials)

sheet 1 (due 20.10.2017)

sheet 2 (due 27.10.2017)

sheet 3 (due 03.11.2017)

sheet 4 (due 10.11.2017)

sheet 5 (due 17.11.2017)

sheet 6 (due 24.11.2017)

sheet 7 (due 01.12.2017)

sheet 8 (due 08.12.2017)

sheet 9 (due 15.12.2017)

sheet 10 (due 22.12.2017)

sheet 11 (due 12.01.2018)

sheet 12 (due 19.01.2018)

sheet 13 (due 26.01.2018)

sheet 14 (added boundedness of U in problem 3 on 30.01.2018)


First exam: Thursday, 15.02.2018, 13.00-15.00

Second exam: Tuesday, 20.03.2018, 13.00-15.00

Information regarding the second exam




Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany