Bernhard Kepka

Institute for Applied Mathematics 
University of Bonn 
Endenicher Allee 60 
53115 Bonn, Germany

Office: 4.032
Phone: +49 228 73 3177
Email: kepka (at) iam.uni-bonn (dot) de
ORCID: 0000-0002-0737-8378


About Me

Since April 2021, I have been a PhD student under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez. Before, I earned my master's degree here in Bonn in 2021 and my bachelor's degree at TU Wien in 2019.

Research Interests

  • Kinetic theory (Boltzmann euqation)
  • Fluid mechanics (incompressible Euler equations)

Publications & Preprints

[7] (with P. Gladbach) Variational interacting particle systems and Vlasov equations, Preprint: arXiv:2404.04350 (2024)

[6] (with E. Franco, J. J. L. Velázquez) Characterizing the detailed balance property by means of measurements in chemical networks, Preprint: arXiv.2402.12935 (2024)

[5] (with E. Franco, J. J. L. Velázquez) Description of Chemical Systems by means of Response Functions, Preprint: arXiv.2309.02021 (2023)

[4] (with D. Alonso-Orán, J. J. L. Velázquez) Rotating solutions to the incompressible Euler-Poisson equation with external particle, Preprint: arXiv.2302.01146 (2023)

[3] (with J. W. Jang, A. Nota, J. J. L. Velázquez) Vanishing Angular Singularity Limit to the Hard-Sphere Boltzmann Equation, J. Stat. Phys. 190, 77 (2023). DOI: 10.1007/s10955-023-03089-4arXiv:2209.14075

[2] Longtime behavior of homoenergetic solutions in the collision dominated regime for hard potentials, Pure and Applied Analysis, to appear -- arXiv.2202.09074 (2022)

[1] Self-similar Profiles for Homoenergetic Solutions of the Boltzmann Equation for Non-cutoff Maxwell Molecules, J. Stat. Phys., 190, 27 (2023). DOI: 10.1007/s10955-022-03034-xarXiv:2103.10744


Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany