The Mathematics of Disorder (4-8 October 2016)

Young Women Academy (Tue. 4 - Thu. 6 October 2016)

Young Women in Probability and Analysis (Thu. 6 - Sat. 8 October 2016)

Location: Mathematik-Zentrum, Endenicher Allee 60, University of Bonn.


Organizers: Margherita Disertori and Constanza Rojas-Molina


This five-day event is designed for young female graduate students (Master and Ph.D.)
and postdocs interested in the interplay between probability and analysis, and their applications.
The main purpose is to provide a stimulating environment for scientific collaboration and discussions.


It will consist of the thematic school Young Women Academy with three minicourses:

  • Mylène Maïda                    (Lille University)          Random Matrices

  • Frédéric Klopp                 (University Paris 6)      Random Schrödinger Operators

  • Massimiliano Gubinelli   (Bonn University)        Stochastic PDEs                         

followed by the workshop Young Women in Probability and Analysis providing a platform

for young female researchers to present their work. There will be introductory lectures by

  • Silke Rolles             (TUM Munich) slides

  • Sandrine Péché     (University Paris 7)

Invited speakers :
Loren Coquille (University of Grenoble Alpes, slides), Anne-Sophie de Suzzoni (University of Paris 13),
Eman Hamza (Cairo University, slides), Alessia Nota (Bonn University, slides),

Elena Pulvirenti (Leiden University, slides), and Wei-Min Wang (CNRS, University of Cergy-Pontoise, slides).


These talks will be complemented with talks by young researchers.

Female participants are invited to submit an abstract for a contributed talk or poster and apply
for financial support. All participants are encouraged to remain for the whole event.

For further informations contact disorderyw2016(at)


You can also download the poster of the event:

This event is financed by:  SFB1060 and BIGS (HCM)                           



 Program Overview 04-08 October

Note the slight variations in the schedule every day!

WA: Young Women Academy

YW: Young Women in Probability and Analysis


The detailed program, including titles and abstracts of talks and other practical information, is available here.









Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany