Young Women in PDEs

Bonn, May 10-12, 2012


This workshop is addressed to young female researchers in PDEs, the Calculus of Variations, and their applications. The aim of the conference is to provide a platform for scientific discussion and exchange of ideas and to promote equal opportunity of women in the mathematical sciences.

Here you can download the conference poster.


Plenary Speakers

Adriana Garroni, University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy
Title of the lecture: "Multiscale variational analysis of dislocations" (Abstract)

Nina Uraltseva, St. Petersburg State University, Russia
Title of the lecture: "Regularity in free boundary problems" (Abstract)

Maria Westdickenberg, RWTH Aachen, Germany
Title of the lecture: "Dynamic and Stochastic Metastability: Problems at the boundary of applied analysis, PDE, and probability theory" (Abstract)


We invite female PhD students and postdocs to submit an abstract for a contributed talk by March 15th.

Registration & Financial Support


Participation is open to both women and men. There is no registration fee. However, for organisational purposes, please register by April 30th sending an email to including the registration form.

Application for financial support

Financial support for travel and accommodation is available for a limited number of young female participants. The deadline was March 15th 2012. All applicants have been notified. No further applications for financial support are accepted.


Scientific organizers 

Lisa Beck
Carina Geldhauser
Caterina Zeppieri


Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany