Graduate Seminar on PDE in the Sciences

Organizers: B. Niethammer, J.J.L. Velázquez, I. Cristian

8 April  Christina Lienstromberg  Long-time behaviour of solutions to non-Newtonian thin-film equations
29 April  Elena Demattè   A kinetic system describing the interaction of a gas with monochromatic radiation
6 May      Elena Demattè   Part II
13 May  Théophile Dolmaire  The Boltzmann equation: its main properties, and an introduction to its rigorous derivation
20 May Lucio Galeati Mixing for generic rough shear flows
27 May Théophile Dolmaire  Part II
3 June No seminar  
10 June No seminar  
17 June No seminar  
24 June Richard Höfer A fast point charge interacting with the screened Vlasov-Poisson system
1 July No seminar  
8 July Bernhard Kepka  Stationary galaxy models with and without external particle
15 July Daniel E. Eriksson Solutions vanishing in time of the Generalised Keller-Segel model in the attraction dominated regime
  • To reserve a talk for the Graduate seminar, please send an e-mail to cristian(at) (Iulia Cristian).


Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany