Young Women in Mathematical Physics

Bonn, 24 - 26 September 2018

Venue: Mathematics Centre, Endenicher Allee 60, University of Bonn.

Organizers: Alessia Nota and Elena Pulvirenti

This three-day workshop is designed for young female researchers (advanced master students, Ph.D. students and postdocs) in the field of Mathematical Physics, with the main scope of providing a platform for learning, exchanging, giving talks, and networking.


It will consist of three minicourses on cutting edge research topics given by

plus talks by

  • Oriane Blondel, Institut Camille Jordan, Université Claude Bernard Lyon
  • Gioia Carinci, Department of Applied Mathematics, Delft University of Technology
  • Diana Conache, Zentrum Mathematik, Technische Universität München
  • Xian Liao, Mathematisches Institut, Universität Bonn
  • Constanza Rojas-Molina, Mathematisches Institut, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
  • Chiara Saffirio, Institut für Mathematik, Universität Zürich
  • Ariane Trescases, Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse (CNRS & Univ. Paul Sabatier)


There will be a Special Lecture by Barbara Rüdiger, Fakultät für Mathematik, Bergische Universität Wuppertal.


These talks will be complemented with talks by young researchers:

  • Costanza Benassi, Northumbria University
  • Mareike Lager, Institute for Applied Mathematics, University of Bonn
  • Ilaria Maccari, Physics Department, Sapienza, University of Rome
  • Alessandra Occelli, Institute for Applied Mathematics, University of Bonn


Female participants are invited to submit an abstract for a poster and apply
for financial support.

We strongly encourage male researchers to attend the workshop.


For further informations contact: ywmp18(at)






Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany