Young women in Partial Differential Equations and applications

For the program in full detail, please click here

Time: 20th-22nd September 2021

The event will take place via Zoom.


  • Amrita Ghosh, IAM, Bonn
  • Arianna Giunti, Imperial College London


Main speakers:

  • Apala Majumdar, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
  • Elisabetta Rocca,  University of Pavia, Italy
  • Anja Schloemerkemper, Wuerzburg University, Germany

Invited speakers:

  • M. Bruna (Cambridge University),
  • C.C. Kreisbeck (Utrecht University),
  • A. Lamacz (Duisburg-Essen University),
  • C. Lienstromberg (Bonn University),
  • T. Simon (Bonn University),
  • L. Scardia (Heriot-Watt University),
  • C. Zeppieri (Muenster University)


The aim of this workshop is to bring together and promote collaborations and interactions between young female researchers who work in Partial Differential Equations applied to problems arising from natural sciences (e.g. material science, fluid-mechanics, biology). There will be three mini-courses and several invited talks. Further there will be the opportunity for some participants to give the equivalent of a small talk/ poster session.

We encourage female PhD students and post-docs to register by writing us to ywpdes(at) Those who wish to present a poster/small talk, please send us also a title with an abstract before 31st May, possibly along with a CV.

Nonetheless, we welcome anyone, independently from the gender, to attend the workshop.


The registration is now closed !



Prof. Dr. Lisa Sauermann has been honored with the von Kaven Award 2023 for her outstanding scientific achievements. (16.11.2023)

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded a New Horizons in Mathematics Prize 2024 for her contributions to applied analysis:

Prof. Dr. Angkana Rüland has been awarded the Calderon Prize that is awarded every two years by the Inverse Problems International Association: (06.09.2023)

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm has been elected into the Academia Europaea. (28.06.2022)

Florian Schweiger erhielt den Hausdorff-Gedächtnispreis 2021 der Fachgruppe Mathematik für die beste Dissertation. Er fertigte die Dissertation unter der Betreuung von Prof. Stefan Müller an. Unter anderen wurde Vanessa Ryborz mit einem Preis der Bonner Mathematischen Gesellschaft für ihre von Prof. Sergio Conti betreute Bachelorarbeit ausgezeichnet. (18.01.2022)

Prof. Dr. Sergio Albeverio has been elected into the Academia Europaea and the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (more; 02.12.2021).


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel
Imprint | Datenschutzerklärung

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany