Institute for applied mathematics


Forschergruppe 797 der Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Analysis and computation of microstructure in finite plasticity

Participating projects and institutions


P1 Numerical algorithms for the simulation of finite plasticity with microstructures
Carsten Carstensen, Institut für Mathematik, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin



P2 Analytical and numerical aspects of relaxation and regularization in models of crystal plasticity
Sergio Conti, Institut für Angewandte Mathematik, Universität Bonn
Georg Dolzmann, NWF I - Mathematik, Universität Regensburg



P3 Modeling and computation of time-continuous evolution of microstructures
Klaus Hackl, Lehrstuhl für Allgemeine Mechanik, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Martin Wagner, Technische Universität Chemnitz



P4 Hybrid micro-macro modeling of evolving microstructures in finite plasticity
Christian Miehe und Daniele Rosato, Institut für Mechanik (Bauwesen), Universität Stuttgart



P5 Regularizations and relaxations of time-continuous problems in plasticity
Alexander Mielke, WIAS und Instut für Mathematik, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin



P6 Discrete and phase field models of dislocations and their macroscopic limits
Stefan Müller and Patrick Dondl, Hausdorff Center for Mathematics and Institute for Applied Mathematics, Universität Bonn



P7 Experimental analysis of the orientation dependence of deformation laminates
Dierk Raabe and Olga Dmitrieva, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Düsseldorf



P8 Statistically similar representative microstructures in elasto-plasticity
Jörg Schröder, Institut für Mechanik, Universität Duisburg-Essen
Daniel Balzani, Institut für Mechanik, Universität Duisburg-Essen


Prof. Dr. S. Müller erhält den diesjährigen Lehrpreis der Universität Bonn (07.07.17).

Prof. Dr. Michael Ortiz kommt als Bonn Research Chair ans IAM (Pressemitteilung, 29.7.2016).

Prof. Dr. S. Conti erhält den diesjährigen Lehrpreis der Universität Bonn (05.07.2016).

Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm, Koordinator des Hausdorff Zentrums für Mathematik an der Universität Bonn, erhält für seine eigene Forschung einen begehrten Advanced Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats (ERC). (Pressemitteilung 21.04.2016)

Prof. Dr. Stefan Müller has been invited to become full member of the scientific society “Academia Europaea” in November. Only European scientists, who have been recommended by a review board and are confirmed by a vote of the council, can join the society. (06.01.2016)


Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Anton Bovier
Chief Administrator: Dr. B. Doerffel

Mailing address

Institute for Applied Mathematics
University of Bonn
Endenicher Allee 60
D-53115 Bonn / Germany